(281) 231-0001

NDT Ideas & News

What is Nondestructive Testing (NDT) Certification?

calendar Dec. 02, 2019user-iconTXNDT

For individuals looking for an expanding and reliable career in the field of engineering, there may be no better place than nondestructive testing.

While fields revolving around technology and innovation can seem unpredictable, nondestructive testing is a field that will continue to grow in tandem with American infrastructure. If you’re looking for a vocation in engineering rather than just another job avenue, nondestructive testing is a viable career, not just a step along the way.

If you’re looking for a career shift, or a way to advance yourself in the field of engineering, NDT certification may be just what you need to grow in this burgeoning field. Here is what you need to know about NDT training and certification.

NDT Certification Levels

Nondestructive testing courses are organized into four different levels of certification. Ranging from Level I Limited to Level III, each level of training will offer you different opportunities to practice your skills and learn from other trained and experienced professionals.

Level I Limited

Level I Limited is the first level of NDT certification. Since we emphasize safety and precision at TXNDT, this is the most restrictive and heavily supervised level of certification.

At this level, technicians have the lowest level of experience and ability, so they are closely monitored and guided by a more seasoned supervisor.

Level I

At Level I, technicians still work under supervision, but the limits as to which tests and calibrations they can perform are fewer. Though these technicians still have limited experience, their skills should demonstrate a more advanced ability than Level I Limited.

Level II

As part of our experience-driven, hands-on program, a Level II certification indicates that a technician has had ample experience with a variety of tests and calibrations.

At this level, not only are the constraints loosened as to what tests technicians can execute, these individuals can also demonstrate their mastery of standards, codes, and specifications by serving as supervisors for those in lower levels of certification.

Level III

For NDT Level III Certification, technicians must be well-versed in a variety of NDT testing disciplines and demonstrate this mastery in their examinations.

To qualify for this level of certification, one of the following must also be true of the technicians:

  • Possess a degree in engineering or science from a university or college with a minimum one year of Level II experience in the specific NDT discipline(s)
  • Passed at least two years of science or engineering study at a college, university, or technical school with two years of Level II experience in the specific NDT discipline(s)
  • Gained four years of Level II experience in the specific NDT discipline(s)

The high distinction of a Level III certification distinguishes technicians as professionals well-trained and experienced in their field. These individuals may serve in a variety of leadership and management positions and can monitor and test Level I and II technicians.

NDT training and certification is a gateway into an exciting field and a challenging and fulfilling career. TXNDT offers a variety of avenues for pursuing training and certification for yourself or your employees.

At TXNDT we are committed to ensuring that all technicians receive certification through our program leave as seasoned professionals with ample hands-on experience, guided by the best minds in the business. We ensure that personnel are qualified and equipped to best serve their job functions and stay aware of any and all compliance needs and specifications.

If you or your staff are looking for ways to expand your skills and broaden your career opportunities, give us a call today at (281) 231-0001 or check out our website for more information.