(281) 231-0001

NDT Ideas & News

NDT Certification Levels Explained

calendar Oct. 01, 2020user-iconTXNDT
TXNDT workers conducting NDT

Whether you’re new to the nondestructive testing profession or you’ve been involved for years, you’re likely familiar with the many different levels of certifications that technicians can reach throughout their training.

At any given level, technicians are licensed to enter into the exciting world of nondestructive testing and the wide variety of industries it services. These different levels, however, also indicate different levels of skill and autonomy for technicians.

Depending on the requirements of a particular job, the skills necessary may indicate that a technician should have a particular level of certification.

For those looking to hire services or technicians deciding on certification courses, it is vital to understand the details of each certification to know what can be performed at every level.

Here’s what you need to know.

What Are the NDT Certification Levels?

Level I Limited and Level I:

The lowest level of NDT certification, at this level, technicians are learning the basics of nondestructive testing and conducting tests under close supervision.

Particularly for those technicians at Level I limited, it is crucial that they are closely monitored by a qualified supervisor who can aid them as they continue to gain the hands-on experience they need out in the field, but without causing any problems due to their limited level of experience.

Once a technician has achieved Level I certification, supervision is lessened as these individuals are more experienced.

Level II:

At this level, technicians have more experience, are familiar with how to prepare for and conduct various nondestructive tests, and can supervise less experienced technicians at Level I and Level I limited certification.

Level II technicians have more developed skill and have clocked more in-service time practicing nondestructive testing in the field. These technicians are familiar with all of the standards, codes, and specifications required for the particular methods for which they are qualified.

NDT Level III Certification:

Technicians at this level are highly skilled and serve as supervisors and instructors, as well as experienced technicians.

In addition to their skills and experience, to reach Level III certification, one of the following requirements must also be met:

  • Possess a degree in engineering or science from a university or college with a minimum one year of Level II experience in the specific NDT discipline(s)
  • Passed at least two years of science or engineering study at a college, university, or technical school with two years of Level II experience in the specific NDT discipline(s)
  • Gained four years of Level II experience in the specific NDT discipline(s)

Contact TXNDT Today!

At any level, NDT certification is only worthwhile if it is achieved through training courses at a qualified training school.

At TXNDT, we make sure that each technician we train is fully prepared to enter the workforce. That training includes all of the most important methods, from magnetic particle testing, to liquid penetrant testing, and everything in between.

From introductory NDT courses to NDT level 3 certification, we take an active approach to educating all of our students and encourage all prospective technicians to take an active role in their own learning.

If you or your staff are looking for ways to expand your skills and broaden your career opportunities through nondestructive testing courses, consider NDT certification.

But don’t trust just any NDT school. If you’re looking for a top-tier experience, give us a call today at 281-231-0001 or check out our website for more information.